Travelling in the Schengen Area

The Schengen Area is a common territory of countries on the borders of which there is no border control of persons.

Members of the Schengen Area are:

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The remaining EU and EEA Member States, i.e. Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are not Members of the Schengen Area.




Under what conditions can you travel in the Schengen Area and the EU?

If you are a citizen of a Schengen country, you can travel to other Schengen countries without having to undergo border control. You do not need a travel document to cross the borders between Schengen countries, although it is recommended that you carry a passport or an ID as you may need to prove your identity, e.g. when boarding a plane or at the request of the police.

You will also need a passport or an ID in the case that a Schengen country reintroduces temporarily inner-border protection and with it border controls.

When traveling to the remaining EU and EEA Member States (Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania), you must present a valid ID or passport. Before traveling to countries outside the Schengen Area, please check first what documents you need to carry with you.

In serious and justified cases, an EU country can deny you entry  (in cases of breaches of the peace and public safety or health risks). You have a right to receive in writing the authorities’ decision explaining why you were denied entry, including information on how and until when to appeal.

What to do if you lose your passport?

If you lose a travel document, contact the nearest diplomatic mission of the country that emitted it. There, you will be issued an emergency travel document so that you can return. The purpose of this document is to enable you a one-time journey to the country that emitted the document.